A Whole World of Creativity

I would label myself as creative. I always had a creative mind, and my involvement in Theatre Arts for the majority of my life really nurtured that drive for an artistic imagination.

Working in advertising reassured me of my ability to be professionally creative, as despite working as an account handler, I was always found in the creative department, casually volunteering my input here and there.

So it comes as no surprise that finding ‘Creativity: from theory to practice in English, Media, Drama’ on the optional module list for my MA prompted me to immediately choose it. This module was only admitting 10 students out of the whole program, and I was certain I was going to be one of them.

Although a difficult decision, I decided to go with ‘Creative Writing’ as my optional path for continuing this module, out of the tough choices of Drama, Film Making, and Game Making.

Part of the assessment for this module is producing a piece of creative writing, and sending us to the British Museum was part of the plan for getting our inspiration flowing.

The British Museum is split into different spaces for artefacts from different regions of the world. Naturally, I found myself wandering off towards the Middle Eastern section to look at an installation that we were shown in class previously, that I had volunteered to write a quick piece on.

During class, before heading off to the Museum, our passionate teacher showed us some objects from the museum so that we can start creatively writing. She gave us approximately 5 minutes for each object. Below is an image of the object she has shown us, with nothing but that picture for us to write whatever our creative mind has seen from it.

One would think that 5 minutes are a really short period of time for crafting something of substance, but surprisingly enough, I found that having just 5 minutes of work enabled me to produce a poem of my feelings towards this object. Yes.. me.. a poem!! I’ve never wrote a poem before, and here I was naturally using alliteration and ending stanzas with rhyming words, in 5 minutes. I was also confident enough to stand and perform my poem, to which my teacher informed me that it was ‘just as powerful’ as the author’s description of it. Pride became me as I made my way back to my desk, although I’m quite sure that she was trying to make me feel good about it.

So I have allowed myself a few minutes of fame…

 

Leave a comment